Tags

,

Most little girls dream about their wedding day. I did. I know my daughter did. You probably did too. Guys I’m not so sure about. I suspect they dream more about the honeymoon.

In any event, as we grow and mature, we may have more specific ideas of what that wedding day will look like. Once my daughter got engaged, her plans kicked into high gear. Friends would often ask us over the past year how we were coping, were we overwhelmed with all the planning and long lists of things to do…I could honestly answer, no. No, we weren’t, because my daughter handled everything. It was remarkable really, to see her in action. She knew what she wanted and we all did our best to make it happen. This past Saturday, I can confidently say that her dreams came true. Judging by the look on her face in this photograph, I think you’ll agree. Sarah & Randy May 25th, 2013

I think it was the most touching, heartfelt ceremony I’ve ever witnessed. Even with the loss of her Papa, we all felt his presence with us as the vows he’d written for Sarah and Randy before he passed were read by our pastor. Family and friends from far and near all gathered to celebrate the day we’d all anticipated for so long. And it was magical. Definitely worth waiting for.

Photo May 25, 5 32 23 PM (1)

I think the lesson here is that dreams are good. It’s good to know what you want, to have a vision and a goal in mind. And it’s ever so satisfying when those dreams come true. For me, seeing how happy my daughter and son-in-law were on Saturday was also a dream come true. An answer to prayer. And a reminder that beyond every rugged rocky path lies a beautiful valley that fills your heart with peace.

Have you had any dream come true moments you can share with us?