Tags

, , , , , ,

images-1

You all know I’m a writer. I’ve struggled. I’ve had victories and disappointments, but like any other job, I continue to strive toward the best. People teach. I learn. I read. I experiment. I grow. You may also know, perhaps from firsthand experience, how extremely difficult this gig is. But I tell you what, I happen to think it’s worth it.

During my agency retreat in Monterey last week, we talked a lot about platform and marketing and the book industry. We were asked, as authors, to identify our ideal reader. Who do we see when we picture someone sitting down with one of our books? The answer came to me easier than I expected it would.

I see me.

Catherine West

That’s right. Someone like me is my ideal reader. I’m a 49 year old mother of two, married, and I work from home. I’m passionate about my writing and my family, and my dog.

377901_10150415729905899_671730898_8799147_682050584_n

I love beautiful things. China tea cups, copper pots, old books. Roses, sunflowers and lavender. And orchids.

IMG_3149DSC05312 IMG_3226 0544cb5b-808c-390d-a0f7-d97e832af8efIMG_3229IMG_3219

I adore sunsets and I take lots and lots of pictures of them!

IMG_2942 IMG_3460

I’m crazy about my family and I love to talk about my kids and all their fabulous accomplishments.

Photo May 25, 5 32 23 PM (1) Sarah & Randy May 25th, 2013

I’m madly in love with my husband. We’ve been married 28 years, and I can’t imagine living life with anyone else. While I probably drive him a little looloo, I know he’s always there for me, even on the crazy days. I believe in the sanctity of marriage and I know he does too. We know it’s hard work. But we know it’s worth it to do everything we can to make it work. It’s a God-ordained thing and you just don’t mess with that.

DSC_7170-L

I’m a little sarcastic. I have a wickedly dry sense of humor. Some people don’t ‘get me’. It’s a refined talent and I work hard to preserve it.

538213_10150634991800899_671730898_9543463_1642398666_n

But hey, at least I’m honest. I’m far from perfect and I’ll be the first to admit it.

I spend a lot of time on social media. If you need to reach me, send me a Facebook message. 🙂 Nope, not even kidding. I have a cell phone but I rarely use it. And I can’t text to save my life.

I love Jesus but I don’t always like the church. And I don’t like a lot of Christians and what they preach. I love my friends. Mainly because I know they love me back, which makes them just as crazy as I am. I am loyal. To a fault. I hate grocery shopping and I hate to cook, but I do enjoy eating out. I suck at math. Like, seriously. I’m phobic around numbers.
I read. A lot. I love to read romances and family sagas, and I read widely, general fiction and Christian fiction. And I don’t always enjoy Christian fiction. I know I’m not alone in this and I think it’s okay to say it. But I’m passionate about the industry in general, and very hopeful for its future.

My ideal reader? You think like I do. You don’t always agree with everything going on around you and you’re not afraid to say so. You’re staring down the road at the rest of your life and maybe wondering what comes next. Sometimes you admit to yourself, often in the middle of the night when you can’t get back to sleep, that you’re a little afraid of getting older. But you appreciate the life you’ve lived, and you don’t dwell on your regrets because who needs that kind of crap? You see opportunity ahead and while you may be a little cautious some days when you don’t know which way the wind’s blowing, you’ve learned to suck it up and pull on the big girl pants.

You are a warrior with a winning smile. You may not want to change the world, but you won’t let it change you. You’re okay with the life you’ve been given, but sometimes you struggle and sometimes you don’t think that anybody listens or understands. And wouldn’t it be nice to open a book that told it straight up?

I get that.

So, dear reader, I get you. And I think you get me. I know you’re out there. I know you’re waiting for the kind of books I write. You’re as excited about this journey as I am. And I can’t wait to connect with you.

IMG_3503

So what are we waiting for? I’d love to hear from you.

Tell me, if you’d care to share, who are you?

