945618_10151459323470899_220358039_n

* This past summer with my daughter and new hubby, his mom, (Dad was taking the photo) and my Dad and stepmom, and my son on the end.

I don’t know about you, but family is the most important thing in my life. I am so grateful to God, every day, for blessing me with a family. I grew up an only child, but my Mom and Dad and I were close, and I loved being around them. Okay, maybe not all the time, but you know…a lot of the time. 🙂

I always thought I’d grow up to have, oh, six or so kids… Well, I soon discovered two was way more than I could handle   the perfect number. My hubby has a brother and a sister, and they both have children, so when we all get together, it’s a lot of people. And now the kids are having kids…so get togethers are even louder.  My kids are not adding to that number yet. 🙂 Although one day I will look forward to it. 🙂

God also places us in spiritual families. Brings people into our lives at just the right time to mentor, hang out and have fun with. I’m fortunate enough to have those people in my life I consider family, even though we’re not related. I have always found it fascinating at the bond that can form so quickly between strangers, and you look at each other and know that you were brought together for a reason. But that’s a post for another day.

1017550_10151660348566708_1902455510_n

* My daughter with her new sisters

My son-in-law’s two sisters from Canada  are coming to visit today – they’ll be staying a few days and I KNOW he and my daughter are SO excited to see them again. She’s come to love his family as her own, and that’s special. That’s the way it should be. I’ve always felt that when you marry, you gain a second family. I’m so grateful for the relationship she has with them. I know they all miss each other so this time is going to be special.

Over the past few months, our own family has really rallied together. Funny how trying times bring people together. It’s sad but true. As we all gathered to say goodbye to my father-in-law this spring, I saw how much our kids have matured and turned into wonderful young adults. I saw them loving their Nana, lifting each other up and really being there for all of us. I think they held it together better than the adults at times. And that blessed me. Because they care about each other. They love each other. Even though my kids didn’t get to see their cousins as often, being in Bermuda, I think they’re all still pretty close. And they all know what family means. I love that. I’m proud of that. And it makes me smile.

1004617_10151471776845899_1034948885_n

* All the cousins with Nana – one of my favorite wedding pictures. 🙂

I was blessed with even more family when I made the decision to search for my birthmother. As soon as I discovered I had a sister, I knew God had given me I gift I couldn’t have imagined. When we met, we both knew that even though we didn’t know each other, we did. There was a bond there, probably had been there our whole lives, and God was now bringing us together to establish a relationship we might never have had. I can’t imagine my life now without my sister and her family in it, and I’m so grateful for that side of my family.

TLV_6557 copy

My sister and hubby with us

So that’s my positive post for today. No deep thoughts here, just gratitude for what I have. I took some time reflecting on all the blessings these people have brought to my life, and I thanked God for each and every one.

Maybe you’ll want to take some time thanking Him for yours.

