IMG_2215

I turned 48 on Sunday.

I celebrate birthdays. Always have, always will. I love getting together with family and friends, a large group or small, doesn’t matter. I really don’t need a birthday, a reason, to celebrate. At least that’s what I’ve always thought. Lately, that hasn’t been true. Lately, life hasn’t been easy. Lately, it’s just been ‘doing life’, rather than living it.

Know what I mean?

Life feels like a roller-coaster that won’t quit. I hate roller-coasters. I mean, really. We spent all year planning, preparing and looking forward to our daughter’s wedding, and then bam, one month before the date, my father-in-law has a heart attack. Dies two weeks later. What. IS. That?

That my friends, is life.

Did we stop the wedding? NO. Was it an awesome wedding? YES!! Did we forget our loss for that day? NO. But we accepted it. We moved through it, and we still praised God in the storm.

If you’ve ever been in a storm, a simple unexpected rain shower that drenches you or a tsunami that sucks the life out of you, you know how very, very, very difficult that is. Yet, if you are a man or woman of faith, you also know that it’s impossible not to praise the One who brought you to that place, because He will bring you through it.

I forget. I forget. I forget.

I get angry. I wail and whine and want to punch somebody’s lights out. I’m really not a violent person. But in those moments, I don’t want to hear that things will get better. That everything happens for a reason. That in all things, God works together for the good of those who love Him… Because, really? Really, God?

Yes.

In. All. Things.

Confession Time. I’m really not a positive person. I see the glass half empty. A lot. I worry about things that I can’t do a damn thing about and I question and create mountains out of molehills and fire off the occasional angry email or Facebook post before thinking. I may have a slightly sarcastic streak that needs to be reined in from time to time. Too often I forget how my words might sound to the untrained ear. I forget that I might unintentionally or not, open a wound or even create one. I forget to be positive instead of negative. I forget to just be still and know…and trust. And believe.

So here’s the thing.

For the next 48 days, which will bring us roughly to December 2nd or so, I’m going to post something positive on my Facebook wall. I’m challenging myself. Even when life sucks and I don’t want to be nice, I will post something positive. I can’t promise the occasional snarky comment won’t crop up, because really, who are we kidding? But I’ve decided to take this challenge, decided to see whether I can do it, and whether it makes a difference.

Want to join me?

Sometimes it might be a Scripture verse. Sometimes I may write stories here that go along with my posts. Sometimes I might highlight other people, because I know a lot of them and they’re pretty cool. Sometimes I might just say what I need to say and you can all have at it. But I will have to find something positive to say. Every. Day.

Okay?

Stop laughing. I’m serious.

Let’s do it.

DAY 1 “I praise You because I am fearfully and wonderfully made...” Psalm 139:14

Why do I believe that? Read THIS and find out.

