Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Sorry for my absence here of late. It has been a busy time, a fun time. Just last weekend I hosted my daughter’s bridal shower. Crazy to think that I have a daughter getting married in just two months time…but there you have it. Of course, immediately afterward, I got hit with the worst cold I’ve had in a long while. I did get my flu shot, but apparently it does not protect against the common cold. So last week I hung out with my daughter and tried to get on with life – we even had a spa day – try going under the steamer for a facial with a head full of cold!! But I enjoyed it anyway. This weekend, I’m hibernating.

I don’t know about you, but when I’m not feeling 100% I like to snuggle under warm blankets and just veg. Not much writing happens when my brain is clogged. And I’m trying not to feel guilty about that. Trying not to think about it in general actually, because I’m not feeling very positive about things right now. I don’t deal well with uncertainty, well, who does, right? I like a plan, I like knowing what’s coming next, what to prepare for and how to move past the obstacles. You can’t exactly do that with the world of publishing. The best I can do is keep writing, keep my eyes focussed on what is in front of me, the tangible, the things I can control, and quit worrying about the things I can’t. Oh, but it’s hard.

Still, I am so grateful for so many things today, even as I sit here coughing up a lung. 🙂 I have so many wonderful friends who support me, my amazing family, so much to look forward to. Discouragement is easy to give in to, but I’m determined to move past it.

Okay, enough said. We haven’t talked books in a while, so let’s do that! These days I’m reading several great novels –

The Girl in the Gatehouse – Julie Klassen

517k8oLcrFL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_SX240_SY320_CR,0,0,240,320_SH20_OU01_

The Girl in the Gatehouse is a historical, rich in detail with captivating characters – I’ve become a fan of Julie’s over the last couple of years, and I was so thrilled to meet her in person this past September in Monterey! We are with the same agency, so we got to hang out a bit. I recommend all her books, and there are a few of them!

Flight of the Earls – Michael K Reynolds 51LIdmMdXEL._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_

Flight of the Earls is Michael’s first novel, and although I’m not very far along with it yet, I’m eager to dive in when I have the time to devote to it. The story is about Irish Immigrants, who leave the shores of Ireland for America, in 1846 – I know I’m going to find this fascinating, as I have always loved these kinds of stories.

Swimming to the Surface – Kristin Billerbeck 

41uB4kLgW5L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_SX240_SY320_CR,0,0,240,320_SH20_OU01_Swimming to the Surface I just happened across the other day. Kristin is known for her YA novels, so when I saw that she’d written an adult fiction, I checked it out. I was even more surprised to discover the author has self-published this book, because that option is always in the back of my mind. It is a different story, but one that any Christian who has struggled within the church can appreciate. I’m looking forward to finishing it.

I still have a ton of books on my TBR pile, but those are three I’m enjoying at the moment. Writing wise, I’m still working on First Harvest, and a new story called Home to Castle Hill. Don’t forget, next month, April – Hidden in the Heart is ACFW Book Club’s pick of the month. I hope you will join in that discussion. And, as always, if you have enjoyed either of my books and would like to post a review, I welcome them! Still haven’t checked out my writing? Visit my website for information about my books and read the excerpts!

What’s on your current reading list? 

