Tags

, , , , , ,

Right?
If you have no idea what the title of this post means, you’re excused. Maybe you don’t have kids, YouTube or the Internet at all. It’s okay. It happens. Believe me, I wouldn’t know anything about Sweet Brown and her quest for a cold pop gone wrong either if it weren’t for my kids rolling around on the kitchen floor one night, laughing hysterically over something they’d just watched on YouTube. And watched again. And again. And again.

So, I was curious. I sat down with them  and watched, and this is what I saw:

Okay, I admit it. I laughed. And I watched it again. And a few times the next day. And I laughed harder.

Then this came along:

Iconic stuff in the making.

What, you think I’m kidding?

Sweet Brown is now doing commercials, yes, she’s got time for dat…and I’ll bet she has more money now than she did when she went in search of a cold pop one night and found her apartment complex on fire.

Life is funny.

Sweet Brown didn’t set out to be famous. She just opened her mouth and told her story. In her own way. She kept it real. And we related. Something about the woman just draws us, makes us laugh. For whatever reason, she’s a likable character.

All too often we fool ourselves into thinking we need to be so much more than who we are. We need to be thinner, richer, more successful. We need more friends. More this, more that.

Ain’t Nobody Got Time For Dat! It’s exhausting for one thing. Take it from me. I’ve been there.

A long time ago I used to think certain things were important. That they made me who I am. That if I didn’t have the right clothes, the right friends, the perfect marriage, well-behaved kids…then somehow I was failing. So I worked really hard to make it look like my world was perfect. And it was far from it. I might have fooled a few folks here and there, maybe even friends who knew me well, but I couldn’t fool God. I finally faced the music and fessed up, and started to get real. It’s amazing really, the freedom that comes with authenticity.

Today, I’m not perfect, but I’m not trying to be. I look back on those early years of married life and raising kids without a clue, and I smile. I even thank God for those days when I felt like I just couldn’t breathe, couldn’t take one more step. Because they taught me to lean on Him. The lessons I learned to get to where I am today have become invaluable. I will continue to make mistakes, but I won’t hide behind them. With me, what you see is what you get, like it or not.

Authenticity is a rare gift these days, and one I value highly. I strive to keep it real, not only in life, but in my writing. I want to create characters that my readers will relate to, because they see something of themselves in that story, and they want to go along for the ride. I keep it real because I know that true healing comes in the honest moments. I keep it real because I know from bittersweet experience, that sometimes the only way up is down. I keep it real, because, well…because it’s no fun being fake.

Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That!

Tell me about it. Are you struggling to keep it real or have you found the joy in authenticity? 

Like authentic characters who struggle through their daily lives just like you? Then you’ll enjoy Yesterday’s Tomorrow, and Hidden in the Heart. Give them a try today! Available in paperback and Kindle.

