Most of us enjoy reading. If you’re reading this blog, you probably fall into that category. Some of you may also be writers, either published authors or pre-published. I fall into both categories – I love to read and I love to write. I would say I am a voracious reader, but I have to admit, since being published, time does not permit me to read as many books as I would like to these days.

9781602903296_FRONT

Before I was published, I never really considered how it would feel to be an author, and what that would entail. I think, like most of us, I had dreams of success. I’m still holding onto some of those dreams, but over the past couple of years, I’ve discovered that being a published author is not as easy as I’d told myself it would be.

Sure, I can do the hard work of writing, editing, re-writing, as many times as needed, because that’s what I do, and I love it. But, once all that hard work pays off, I have a book to present to the general public, and…I freeze.

Marketing is soooo not me. But I plod on, taking risks, following leads and hoping that perhaps one day my books will fall into the right hands and all of a sudden there will be this major buzz and I’ll see sales skyrocket (like in that dream I mentioned)…but so far this remains just a dream. But I do what I can. And one thing I can do is ask for a little help from my friends.

??????????????????????????

If you’ve read and enjoyed either Hidden in the Heart or Yesterday’s Tomorrow, there are several things you can do:

Tell your friends! Word of mouth is a powerful tool!

Write a review! Believe it or not, the number of good reviews a book has does not go unnoticed. I also love hearing what readers think, even if they didn’t like a book. 🙂 You can post reviews on Amazon, GoodReads, Shelfari, Christian Book Distributors, Barnes & Noble to name just a few.

Offer to interview an author on your blog! This is a fun way to spread the word about a book you’ve enjoyed, and authors will often offer a giveaway copy.

For me, I know that having a support system is one of the most important things in this publishing journey. I have two important events coming up in April that I’d like to share with you –

Hidden in the Heart has been selected as one of the Book of the Month picks in the ACFW Book Club. You do not have to be a member of ACFW to join the book club, so if you would like to join in the discussion for Hidden in the Heart at that time, I’d love to have you join in! Or you could just spread the word about it. The discussion begins April 20th!

I have signed up with the super cool folks at Litfuse, and we’ll be doing a blog tour in April – 3rd – 21st. I’ll post more information about that closer to the time, but I’d love it if you would re-post or tweet any links I send out during that time!

If you’d like to read more about what you can do to help out an author, I found this blog post by my agent, Rachelle Gardner, on the Books & Such Literary Agency blog to be very helpful.

Well, I appreciate your reading this and if you’re so inclined to help an author out, I know you won’t go unappreciated. 🙂

