Tags

, , , , , ,

e3V8ZnbH9u7YIBOEOQdBeflw1ezWdfTB4zFoISm1J-A,84w7m6cL1A6Mf6h4xecHg7FQIiHMAFmb1UjvIttMT6E,JLCbdrL6J78LBVSzR0LTx238f6AEdepmDgCDVAYmXOQ,CD2OmDc17SrJy473ih-ppYn3IU6_EXsJfVTbPD5bz6I copy

Happy New Year!

Are you smiling and nodding in agreement? Or did you just roll your eyes at me?  Yeah, I know. The sentiment gets old pretty fast. Some of you might be thinking “What’s new about it? I get up, go to the same job, work the same hours for the same stinking salary, come home, feed the family, help kids with homework, clean up and do it all over again tomorrow.”

I get that.

When my kids were in school, that’s pretty much how I felt. Each day seemed to be a replica of the previous one.  There was lots to do and very little time in which to do it. I admit to being a bit frazzled at the best of times, and yes, I am sure there were many days when I forgot about stopping and savoring the moments, because they’d pass by far too quickly.

Say what? Stopping and…who now?

Savor the moment. 

I know. It’s a hard concept to grasp. This idea of truly savoring life. But trust me, those little kids tearing around your kitchen right now, screeching at each other, spilling the milk and running in the opposite direction when you say five more minutes until school? They grow up.

All too soon, you’ll be sitting in a quiet, peaceful kitchen with only the dog for company, and you’ll wonder how you got here.

How did I suddenly end up with two adult children, a daughter about to getting married? This year. Yikes. Seems like just yesterday I was bawling my eyes out as I dropped her off at college. Those last few years went by at warp speed. Did I miss anything? Did I give it my all? Did I make myself available? Did I listen, really listen? Did I offer good advice or pray enough or…love enough?

I don’t know about you, but I hate those kinds of questions. I hate thinking that perhaps somewhere along the line, I dropped the ball. Perhaps I spoke an unkind word unintentionally. Or didn’t respond to somebody’s need. Or…well, you get it. The list can go on for miles. And yeah, I’m sure I screwed up last year. And the year before that. And the year before that one too.

I’ve come to accept the fact that I’m not perfect. And I’m okay with it. I’m done with trying to be SuperMom, SuperWife, SuperChristian. I’m me, and while I do live by a certain standard, I try not to knock myself too hard when I make mistakes. Yelling at yourself in the mirror gets ugly quick.

This is why I don’t make resolutions. I do set goals and I’ll try my best to meet them, but I won’t set myself up for failure. Like saying this year I will write three novels and become a NYT best selling author. Not gonna happen. I would like to complete a novel or two. I do have hopes and dreams for my writing, but honestly, I simply don’t know what the future holds. I can’t predict it and I won’t try. I do have some personal goals that I’d like to meet, but I have no way of knowing whether I will or not. So I will do my best to live in the moment. To savor each step along the way. To enjoy life to the full. And to be ready as best I can for whatever is coming around the next corner.

I’m determined to enjoy the journey.

That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it? Sure, there are some things I could probably change about myself. And I might have things I’m working on. But I’m not sharing them. God and I know what I need to focus on this year. Everyone on Facebook really doesn’t need to.

So as we launch into 2013, ready or not, I wish you peace. I wish you joy. Success, however you define it. I hope that you will take time each day to smile, to laugh, to love, and to savor the moments with the ones you love. I pray you too will endeavor to enjoy the journey.

Let’s roll.

