I’ll be the first to admit, I don’t like change. I like knowing where things are. I like the security of sameness. I’m not big on adventure or uncertainty. Suffice to say, I’m not a big fan of huge changes. But sometimes, change is good.

We’ve just had a General Election here in Bermuda. The ruling party has been voted out after fourteen years. We have a new Government, with new ideas and goals. I can assure you that in this instance, change is very, very good. But it brings along questions, and yes, uncertainty. What if we made a mistake in voting for this new party? What if they don’t bring about the change this island so desperately needs? What if they don’t live up to the high expectations that over half the island has placed on them?

What if the world actually ends on Friday? 

Well, if that happens then none of these questions will matter. 🙂

Playing the what if game never did anybody any good. You can’t go back and re-do what has been done. We all have things in our lives that we wish we could change. We long for a do-over. But we also know that there are many things we just won’t be able to fix. We make choices every single day. Some bad, some good, some just plain stupid.

Change is a choice.

Not always, you say, there are lots of things in my life that I didn’t choose to happen to me, but they did anyway – true enough. Nobody chooses to be unemployed. Nobody chooses to get cancer. Nobody chooses to be a parent who is told they’ve lost their six-year old. Those kinds of changes are life-altering, devastating and can be debilitating. I haven’t made much comment on Sandy Hook because I simply don’t know what to say. There are no words to express that kind of horror or grief.

Just as it did on September 11th, 2001, last Friday, December 14th, 2012, the world changed. As devastating as those events were, I believe that some of the changes they bring about will be good. Gun control is never a bad thing. Loving your kids extra hard and not taking things for granted…that’s a good thing. I think when we are forced to stare in the face of evil, we grow stronger. We change our resolve and we determine to fight against it. So let me re-phrase that.

Positive change can be a choice.

As we approach Christmas and the start of a new year, it is time to seek change. We all have the opportunity to take stock of our lives and look at where we’re going. And yes, we can choose to change some things if we so desire. Change is not something to fear. If we choose change for the right reasons, it can be a refreshing breeze, lifting oppression and stagnation that we may have grown accustomed to. Change can bring about freedom, if we embrace it and allow ourselves to accept it. Change is a hard concept to grasp. But sometimes it is necessary, and worth fighting for.

Are there things in your life that you want to change in the coming year?

 

