Tags

, , , , , , ,

Welcome!
This month, in honor of National Adoption Awareness Month, I’m thrilled to be devoting my blog to all those affected by adoption in some way. I put out the call some time ago, and have received wonderful posts from adoptive parents, adoptees, and birth mothers. I can’t wait to share them with you! There are some days when I did not receive a post, so I will pose a question from the Discussion Questions at the back of Hidden in the Heart, and perhaps we can talk about it. Feel free to ask me questions too. It has been great to have so much discussion about a topic that is near and dear to my heart.

We will begin our journey on Saturday, with a post by my friend and author, Christine Lindsay, who is a reunited birth mother. Fridays will carry on as normal with Friday Featured Authors, and tomorrow Gail Sattler will be my guest.

Last week, I had Katie Ganshert as my guest, talking about her journey as a prospective adoptive parent, and giving away a copy of her novel, Wildflowers from Winter. The winner is:

Sonia Meteer! 
Congratulations, Sonia. I know you’ll enjoy it!

I hope you’ll join me this month in sharing our thoughts on adoption. I think some things may surprise you. As I am learning from reader responses to Hidden in the Heart, not everyone sees things the same way. And that’s okay. God made us all differently, with the right to our own opinions. But I do ask that if you wish to respond to a post that you may not agree with, please do so in love. I reserve the right to remove any comments that may be perceived as hurtful to someone else. 

Today’s Question:

Psalm 139; 13-16 is quoted at the beginning of the book. What does this verse mean to you? How might it practically affect the way you see others? Yourself? God? The world around you? The subject of adoption?

For you created my inmost being; 

you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; 

your works are wonderful, 

I know that full well. 

My frame was not hidden from you 

when I was made in the secret place, 

when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. 

Your eyes saw my unformed body; 

all the days ordained for me were written in your book 

before one of them came to be. 

—PSALM 139: 13-16 

