Tags

, , ,

Who Are You?

I’m just your average author/pharmacist/soccer mom. All right, so that’s pretty strange.

I was raised in southern California in a home full of readers and always had my nose in a book. Although I flirted with idea of becoming a writer, I also wanted to be a ballerina and a protozoologist. When I learned I get seasick, I abandoned marine biology. When I grew hips (and hated pointe work), I gave up my ballet dreams. And as for writing…well, I kind of wanted to eat. My practical side won, and I majored in chemistry at UCLA, then went to pharmacy school at UC San Francisco.

My husband and I met at UCSF. We’re both pharmacists, and we live in a suburb in the San Francisco Bay Area. After our first son was born, I went down to working one day a week so I could stay home with him, fully intending to return to part- or full-time work once the kids were all in school. We had a daughter and another son, and I got involved teaching Sunday school and women’s Bible studies.

In 2000, when our youngest was a toddler, I woke up one morning from a dream that was so compelling I had to write it down. And it became a full-length novel. A really bad novel, but I didn’t know that at the time. I decided if I was going to dedicate so much time to writing, it had to be more than a hobby. I had to treat it seriously. So I started attending writers’ conferences and joined a writers’ group. In 2003, I submitted for the first time. Five long years of rejection letters later, and I received my first contract. My first novel, A Distant Novel, was published by Revell in 2010.

Where Are You Now?

In a state of transition, but aren’t we all. Our oldest son is away at college, and our younger two children are in high school, so the nest is slowly emptying. I still work one day a week as a hospital pharmacist, teach Sunday school, and lead women’s Bible studies.

My fourth novel, With Every Letter, released this month, the first book in the Wings of the Nightingale series. I just finished my publisher’s first edits on the second book in the series, On Distant Shores (June 2013), and I’m preparing to dive into the third book.

I’m still adjusting to the life of an author—the writing, publicity, speaking, blogging, Facebooking…and balancing it all.

Where Are You Going?

Wouldn’t that be fun to know? If only the Lord trusted us with that information. But He doesn’t, for a very good reason. So all I can say is, “Lord willing…”

Lord willing, the next two novels in the Wings of the Nightingale will release as scheduled. Lord willing, my kids will graduate and get married and have fulfilling jobs and give us adorable grandbabies. Lord willing, my husband and I will grow old together. Lord willing, I’ll get another contract, and another, until He decides I’ve told all the stories He wants me to tell. Lord willing, I’ll keep teaching and speaking and helping people grow in their walks with God.

About Sarah Sundin

Sarah Sundin is the author of With Every Letter, the first book in the Wings of the Nightingale series from Revell, and also the Wings of Glory series (A Distant Melody, A Memory Between Us, and Blue Skies Tomorrow). In 2011, A Memory Between Us was a finalist in the Inspirational Reader’s Choice Awards and Sarah received the Writer of the Year Award at the Mount Hermon Christian Writers Conference. Sarah lives in northern California with her husband and three children. When she isn’t ferrying kids to tennis and karate, she works on-call as a hospital pharmacist and teaches Sunday school and women’s Bible studies. Please visit her at http://www.sarahsundin.com.

As part of a morale-building program, World War II flight nurse Lt. Mellie Blake begins an anonymous correspondence with Army engineer Lt. Tom MacGilliver in North Africa. As their letters crisscross the Atlantic, they develop a deep friendship. But when they’re both transferred to Algeria, will their future be held hostage by the past—or will they reveal their identities?

