Tags

, , , , , ,

Who am I?

I’m a Texas country girl!

I was a high school and college English teacher for 15 years and now I’m writing full time. I write Amish mysteries for Zondervan, Amish romances for Harvest House, and Amish novellas for Abingdon Press. I adore my job! But it feels more like a calling than a job. With each book I try to share a story about God’s grace.

My husband and I have an empty nest, after 17 years of college tuition for our 4 children. We have one child who is a pharmacist, one who is a vet, and one who is a business major. We also have a special needs child who is working toward independence.

You’re more likely to see me in cowboy boots than heels, and I do not get cleaned up before I go to the gym — so sometimes I look a little frightening. I play keyboard in the praise band at my church, and I love to knit, crochet and quilt.

We have THREE cats (oh my) and an entire herd of deer who hang out around our yard. We also have four grand-dogs.

Where am I now?

A few years ago we moved from the Dallas area to a small town in the Hill Country. I love everything about it! We’re a close knit community, away from the hustle and bustle. I have no doubt this is where God meant for my husband to retire … and it’s been a perfect place for me to begin my writing career.

Since I quit my teaching job, I’m able to focus on my writing and on spending time with my family. I think it’s very important to keep that balanced as it’s easy to spend too much time on one thing and neglect the other.

My first book released in 2010 (A Simple Amish Christmas), and my fifth book released this month (Material Witness). I have 9 more coming in the next few years. All of them are Amish and all focus on the grace God gives us.

Where Am I Going?

I am completely trusting God to lead me, so I’m not sure I can answer that question! It would be easy to say “yes” to everything, but I’ve found myself saying “no” to some opportunities and waiting on others. I’ve had some really interesting avenues open up in my writing career, and I am so thankful for that.

All I know for sure is that I’m going to continue to get up, write about God’s grace, and care for my family. Any other details? Well, those are up to Him.

About Material Witness

Tragedy strikes on the opening night of the Fall Crafters Fair when a woman is killed in the parking lot of Daisy’s Quilt Shop, and the only material witness is one of Melinda Byer’s boys. The investigation takes a more bizarre turn when detective Shane Black becomes convinced the killer was actually after Callie.
This time it’s a madman loose in the largest crowd of the year, and he’s looking for something or someone. If they can’t figure out what, one of Deborah and Callie’s close circle of friends may be next. Masked identities, antique quilts with hidden messages, an Amish boy whose handicap makes him stronger, one brave dog, and a possible hidden treasure … this time it’s nonstop action, danger, and a dash of romance.

About Vannetta

Vannetta Chapman writes inspirational fiction full of grace. She has published over one hundred articles in Christian family magazines, receiving more than two dozen awards from Romance Writers of America chapter groups. She discovered her love for the Amish while researching her grandfather’s birthplace of Albion, Pennsylvania. Her novel, Falling to Pieces, is a 2012 ACFW Carol Award finalist. A Promise for Miriam earned a spot on the June 2012 Christian Retailing Top Ten Fiction list. Chapman writes Amish fiction for Abingdon Press, Zondervan, and Harvest House. She lives in the Texashill country with her husband.

Vannetta has offered to do a GIVEAWAY – the book of our winner’s choice, so be sure to leave your contact information in the comments! 

Connect with Vannetta! 

Website

Blog

Facebook

Pinterest

Youtube

Buy Vannetta’s Books!  

