Tags

, , ,

It’s my pleasure to have romance author Sherrie Hansen Decker on the blog today!

 

Who Are You?

… a very complicated question that requires a complex answer. Twenty years ago, I bought a dilapidated Victorian house in northern Iowa so I could move home and be nearer my extended family (nieces and nephews, because I didn’t have kids of my own). I rescued an amazing but very run-down old house from the bulldozer’s grips and turned it into a bed and breakfast and tea house, the Blue Belle Inn. Welcoming guests, running the business and cooking wonderful food has consumed the largest chunk of my life ever since.

Before that, I lived in Colorado Springs, CO, and before that, Augsburg, Germany. Before that, I attended Wheaton College, Wheaton, IL and spent one life-changing summer in Bar Harbor, Maine. I grew up on a farm in southern Minnesota.

After 12 years of writing romance novels late at night when I couldn’t sleep (mostly because I was so keyed up from working 12 hour days at my B&B), I met and married my real-life, romantic hero, Mark Decker, a pastor. I enjoy playing the piano with the worship team at church, needlepointing, photography, renovating and decorating historic houses, traveling, and going on weekly adventures with my nieces and nephews.
I live in 2 different houses, 85 miles apart, and still write on the run, whenever I have a spare minute. “Love Notes” is my fifth book to be published by Second Wind Publishing, a mid-sized, independent press out of Kernersville, NC, and my debut Christian Inspirational novel.

Where Are You Now?

Right now, I’m a juggler living in a circus tent, hoping I don’t drop too many balls when (if?) the big top blows its… top. Seriously, my life is crazy right now… in a good way for the most part, but way too busy. I’m promoting my new release (Love Notes) and working on my next book (Wild Rose of Scotland), and trying to keep my head above water in all aspects of my life.  The highlight of my week, and the thing that most helps me refocus, is my Wednesday outings with my 8 and almost 11 year old nieces.

Where Are You Going?

What a great question. I have no idea. Really. I do have faith that God will lead me where he wants me to go, but what he has in store for me next, I don’t know. I have 3 or 4 more books charted out in my head and or partially written – I can’t wait to get started on them. I want the Blue Belle Inn to be better than ever (I celebrated 20 years this winter). And, I want to see the parts of the world I’ve never seen, and revisit the places I love one more time. I want to have more time for the important things and fewer encumbrances. So, I’m forging ahead and hoping things all come together. Hope, joy, peace, love and of course, faith. Easy, right?

About Love Notes:


Hope Anderson’s heart is finally starting to thaw. Tommy Love is treading on thin ice. They both want Rainbow Lake Lodge. Only one of them can have it.

For Hope, recreating the past – reopening the lodge and seeing it bubbling with families, children, and laughter again – means new life. It’s the only way she can honor her late husband’s legacy.

For Tommy Lubinski of Tommy Love and the Love Notes fame, Rainbow Lake means coming home – peace, quiet, seclusion – and a second chance at stardom. Once he’s bulldozed the lodge and built his dream house overlooking the lake, everything will be perfect.
Hope is sinking fast, but she’ll be fine if she can just keep her head above water until spring. Tommy’s troubles run a little deeper, but there’s no need to worry for now… Rainbow Lake is frozen solid. Or is it?

Endorsement by Author Lyn Cote:
“I would subtitle Sherrie Hansen Decker’s inspirational romance, *Love Notes*, ‘When Dreams Collide.’ The hero, a famous pop singer-songwriter, and the heroine, an owner of a failing MN resort are both burdened with the “dead” past. But neither see it that way–until forced to. A cast of interesting and very alive characters and plenty of intriguing plot twists make for a satisfying read.” Lyn Cote, author of the Women of Ivy Manor series.

Connect With Sherrie! 
Facebook
Blog
Publisher
Twitter
Goodreads

