Tags

, , ,

Okay, I double booked my Friday authors this week. Bad me. But the upside is, you get to learn about TWO authors this week!!
Today we have the pleasure of Jennifer Fromke’s company! Jennifer is celebrating the release of her debut novel, A Familiar Shore, and she’s here to tell us about it and about herself!

Who are you?

My name is Jennifer Fromke and I’m a water-aholic. I think I was created with something inside me that naturally longs for large bodies of water. Sunrises, sunsets and the moon look best to me when reflected in water. The sound of running water, trickling water, lake lapping against the hull of a boat, waves washing up on shore, rain falling on a metal roof, mountain stream tumbling over giant boulders, pretty much any kind of moving water serves to soothe the rough places inside me. And if I get to watch as well as listen, so much the better.

Where are you now?

I love this question because there are so many answers!

1. I’m on my back porch – one of my favorite places to write. Running water and chirping birds make it extremely peaceful.

2. I’m living in Concord, NC. Thinking back on my life, this really is a surprise. I grew up in Michigan, and North Carolina never even appeared on my radar. I loved the lakes, and continued to treasure my lake time when I went to school in Chicago and later moved to Minnesota. After four years in the “land o lakes” we moved to St Louis, MO. Land-locked was the term that pressed in on me as I longed for water that was not the Mississippi River. Finally, God brought us to North Carolina, where we live close to several lakes and less than three hours from the ocean (seriously, the OCEAN! For a girl from the “middle” it’s amazing to think I can DRIVE to the beach!).

3. I’m at the beginning of my writing career, in the best part of my life, three months into my debut novel’s release, working on my next novel.

Where are you going?

Up north. Every summer we escape the crispy temperatures of late summer in the south, and flee to a lake in northern Michigan. We have family with a lovely place on our favorite lake, and we sit for two weeks with our toes in the cold water, looking for Petoskey stones and soaking up the low humidity, cooler temps, and family time. Feeding our souls.

How about you? Do you long for the sound of ocean waves? Mountain streams? Tell us about a favorite “on the water” memory.

A Familiar Shore

Jennifer’s love for the water comes through loud and clear in her debut novel, A Familiar Shore. She starts the novel Oceanside and takes her protagonist north to a lake in Michigan. Meg Marks is a young lawyer raised off the coast of the Carolinas. An anonymous client hires her to arrange his will, and sends her to meet his estranged family at their lake home in northern Michigan. After a shocking discovery, she finds herself caught between his suspicious family and a deathbed promise her conscience demands that she keep. Will she sacrifice her own dreams for revenge, or will she choose something more?

Connect with Jennifer!

Website

Facebook

Twitter – @jenniferfromke

