Tags

, , ,

Michelle is one of those prolific authors – you know the kind I mean – the kind who seems to have a new book coming out every other day! I don’t know how she does it, but she’s been an inspiration to me for many years. I’m pleased to have Michelle on the blog today and can’t wait for you to learn more about her and her wonderful writing!

Who Are You?

I’m glad to be here today on This is a Blog About Books. Just a little bit about myself. I am first and foremost a Christian, and then I’m a wife, mother, and lastly, an author and social worker. My children have just finished their second year of college with only two years left before graduation. Thankfully they are both on scholarships that they earned because of their brains. I write in my spare time and read books to help promote other authors. There is a lot of good fiction out there and I feel that too many people are critics and not enough are reading the very books they criticize. That said, I am not one to read popular fiction. I’ve never read anything by Dan Brown, nor have I read The Shack, the Harry Potter series, The Hunger Games, or the Twilight series. And honestly, I don’t think I’m missing out by doing that. Someone needs to read those lesser known authors and spread the word about their great books, and the person to do this, I feel, is me.

Where Are You Now?

Now that you know a bit more about me as far as my general thoughts about my life and Christian fiction, I’d say right now I’m at a place in my life where I write for the encouragement it gives me and to touch the lives of people who may be discouraged about their faith, who have fallen away from their faith, or who have never had faith in Christ. I have plenty of fans who use my books as a resource to help friends in need. I’m writing whatever I feel like God wants me to share from my challenges in life and/or the challenges in other people’s lives that I’ve grown to love. Each story I write has a little bit of me in them, or I couldn’t feel the passion needed to drive the creative process. However, very few of the stories I write look anything like my life. So right now I’m writing what I’m inspired to write and for me it’s a ministry. I’m not making a lot of money, but there is something very gratifying when someone says they read your book and it really touched them deeply and made them think about how they are living their life. That, to me, is where the greater riches lie anyway.

Where Are You Going?

Not sure exactly where I’m going in this journey. Even if I never wrote another word after my last contract has been fulfilled (that would be book 20, I think) I’d be happy to know that my writing was meaningful to the people who enjoyed it. I don’t think I could ever stop writing, however, and I could never ever stop reading. Even though I get more and more behind every month in my mound of books that I need to read, I keep trying to get the stack down to a reasonable amount. I don’t think the day will ever come when I get caught up, but that’s okay. That said, if either reading or writing gets to be a major stressor in my life or a burden, I will stop whatever it is I’m doing and listen for the direction I need to head in next. So far that hasn’t happened to me. I enjoy writing and reading a lot. Both give me energy. My brain muscle (I know it’s not really a muscle) gets a lot of exercise as I continue to do those things I enjoy. Someday I will probably die with a book in my hand (or one open on my kindle,) and chances are I will be in the middle of reading a Christian novel.

About Decision To Love

Love is a decision, or is it merely an emotion?Eight years after Tony and Hope’s affair ended, new problems arise. Jimmy has gone off to college, but returns home with a startling revelation that devastates his father and causes his final heart attack. Now Hope is grieving the loss of both her husband and their son. She tries to make sense of everything, and in the end she decides to love her son through the grief. More than that, she makes the decision to love whoever her son chooses to love, whether she agrees with his choices or not.

Tony’s life has its own disaster tearing through it. First, he is accused of killing his ex-wife, but he is soon released once the authorities realize he had nothing to do with it. The tragedy with his ex led to some major changes in his life, however, and some soul-searching that ultimately turns Tony’s life around. While he is still adjusting to his new perspective on life, his long-lost daughter Nina contacts him and has some secrets of her own. He is overjoyed to be reunited with his daughter, but with their relationship comes an entirely new set of challenges.

Jimmy is confused about his faith, his life, and ultimately, whom he should love. After some severe trials knock him off what he thought was the right course for his life, he makes the decision to love himself enough not to be used by someone again. But will his decision protect him in the end?

BUY Decision To Love:
About Michelle
Michelle Sutton is the author of well over a dozen inspirational novels. She is also a book reviewer, an avid blogger, the manager of the Edgy Christian Fiction Lovers social networking site, the mother of young college students, a wife of almost 22 years, a social worker by trade, and follower of Jesus Christ.
Connect With Michelle:
