If you’re a writer, you’ve probably heard how you’re supposed to interview your characters, right? Make lists, ask them a ton of questions, get to know them inside and out. Okay, I admit, I find this a bit anal. But then again, I find a lot of things anal so this should come as no surprise to you. It got me thinking about interviews though. And how we need to be honest when answering those questions.

When my book first came out last year, I gave a lot of interviews, mostly on blogs, so I had time to read the questions, mull them over and think about how best to answer. Occasionally, life would get in the way and I’d find myself scrambling through them to get them back to the interviewer in time. What surprised me in this scenario is the things that would just pop into my head as answers, without thought. ย Sometimes I’d sit back and go, “Huh.” “Really?” Yep, I’d tell myself. That’s really how I feel.

Have you ever been put on the spot and been afraid to speak your mind?

I find the older I get, the less afraid I am. Sometimes this is a good thing, sometimes people need to hear the truth, or at least my version of it, but sometimes it is far better to think about a response rather than blurting out the first thing that comes to mind. Trust me on this one. ๐Ÿ™‚

But anyway, lets be spontaneous today. Let’s have a little fun. (And please, keep this PG!)

List 5 of your all time favorite things – food, movies, places – whatever.

List 5 of your worst things – things you simply can’t stand.

I’ll scramble up the names of everyone who takes part, and send one lucky person a copy of my novel, ย Yesterday’s Tomorrow, just for playing! Yes, I know. I’m cool that way.

And just to be fair – here’s my list.

Faves –

1. Family – can’t live without these people.

2. Friends – ditto.

3. My dog, Noah – he makes me happy, what can I say?

4. Being at my cottage in Northern Ontario – love that place.

5. Writing – I love what I do!

Worsts – No visuals on these. Ugh.

1. Flying. 2. Driving on major highways (as a passenger – I don’t drive on highways) 3. Going to the dentist. 4. Rats. 5. Whiny people.

Okay, that was interesting. I actually had a harder time writing down the things I love, because there are so many of them, I had to really think what could make such a short list. Things I hate, well, that was just the tip of the iceberg. ๐Ÿ™‚ I could be here all day with that one. Which I suppose would make me fit into category five quite well, so I’ll quit while I’m ahead.

Looking forward to your answers!

