Tags

, , ,

If you haven’t yet had the pleasure of a chat with Canadian author, Gail Sattler, I urge you to take the next opportunity you get and nab her for a cup of coffee or tea! Gail is a talented musician, and can usually be found playing her bass guitar on the worship team each year at the ACFW conference. When she’s not there, you can find her in her beautiful home of Vancouver. I’ve known Gail for many years, in fact she was one of my very first critique partners. I remember when she got her first book contract with Barbour, for Walking The Dog, and it’s been a great ride for Gail since then!

I’m thrilled that she’s here today to tell us a bit about herself and her latest release, Seattle Cinderella!

Who are you?

On my blog, I am a wife, mother, musician, writer, pet owner, and lizard lover, depending on what day it is, and this is very true.

On Monday I’m a classical musician, I play acoustic double bass for a community orchestra, and Monday is practice night. On Tuesday I veg on the living room couch, and my husband and I, depending on various interruptions, catch up on all the TV shows he’s recorded for me. Of course my favorite show is Castle.  Since my boys are all young adults now, we don’t really have a “family” time anymore, but Tuesday is the night that depending what I’m watching on television, they still come to point and laugh when my darling husband puts on something that makes me sniffle at the ending. Which of course makes me wonder how they know…

Wednesday it’s band night again, this time jazz band, which is much less formal than the orchestra, and much louder.

Thursday night I go visit my father-in-law. We usually do take-out Chinese food, and he is always generous to let me take home most of the leftovers for my lunch the next day. Gotta love the man!

Then Friday is free, and unless I have plans with friends, I usually I go hide downstairs and write. This continues on through Saturday, which is my major writing day, which most of the time it’s only me and my husband at home. Fortunately  my husband is a smart man, and he knows that even though our computers are side by side in our home office, he can tell when he should be going upstairs to watch his shows (vs my shows) and leave me in the quiet basement office alone.

Sunday I’m on the worship team at church, so that means getting up early every third week.  I used to play bass guitar, but we’ve had a switch with the team, and I’m back to playing piano, which I’m really enjoying again.

So put this in a hat with my husband and three boys, shake it all up, and that’s who I am.

Where I am now?

Right now I feel like I’m wiggling my toes over the line at a crossroads. For so long I wrote only category, one of many authors in established lines, and now I’m breaking away to single titles, and series. It’s a great place to be, but with that, comes the need for tenacity and perseverance. I’ve recently had 4 deadlines back to back, along with the day job, and it’s a lot to do. Right now I’m doing a lot of promo for one, Seattle Cinderella gearing up for promos for the next, Take the Trophy and Run, and the edits for the one after that, When Pigs and Parrots Fly, and writing the next, Another Path. Soon, Barbour is going to re-release my first series, Vancouver, in digital format, so that’s all exciting, but when put together, a bit overwhelming. And I feel it.

Where am I going?

I’d like to say to bed, but that’s not going to happen. I’m moving forward, being involved in 2 active series – Bloomfield, a series with a group of authors, which is brand new and releasing soon, and working on my own series which started with The Narrow Path, and will continue on with the book I’m writing now, Another Path. So instead of going to bed, I’m going back to my computer to keep writing.

About Seattle Cinderella:

Cinderella lives—except her name is Cindy and she resides in Seattle! Cindy is forced to run her late father’s muffler shop. Will her step-sisters’ shenanigans and Luke Princeton’s charms only make her life even more unbearable? Cindy’s step-sister Annie has reformed her ways. But how will she prove it to the man she loves? Step-sister Zella is writing her own love story. But is she using a poison pen? Cindy’s godmother, Farrah, has caught the attentions of a younger man. Does she have the courage to love again? How far will God go to give these women a happy-ever-after?

About Gail:
Gail Sattler lives in Vancouver, BC, where you don’t have to shovel rain, with her husband, 3 sons, 2 dogs, countless fish, and a lizard named Bub who is quite cuddly for a reptile, when he’s not eating her houseplants.
For more info on Gail you’re invited to visit her website at www.gailsattler.com

