Tags

, , ,

Otherwise known as Sandie!

I got to know Sandie last year when a bunch of us agency mates got together to create a blog. I followed her journey through illness and read her brave posts about getting through it all with grace and courage, and I was inspired. Until we ‘met’, I hadn’t read any of Sandie’s books, but that was soon to change. I picked up Always The Baker, Never The Bride first, and finished it in a couple of sittings. True to her tagline, ‘laugh-out-loud fiction’, it is indeed laugh-out-loud funny. I loved the story, the characters, the setting. I was hooked. Then I read The Big 5-0! . Again, Sandie’s humor shines through this story, and anyone in their 40’s looking toward that ‘big birthday’ will definitely relate to this book! I’m thrilled that Sandie’s latest book, Always The Wedding Planner, Never The Bride has released, because it’s the second in the Emma Rae Creation series, and brings back those lovable characters we met in Always the Baker. If you’re in need of a good laugh, go buy these books!

I’m really pleased that Sandie has agreed to chat with us today, so I’m going to turn the reins over to her as she answers my three questions!

Who Are You?
It seems like a simple question, doesn’t it? Even so, there’s no simple answer. I’m a writer chick, yes. But I’m also a former publicist…an animal activist and dog lover…a diabetic…a cancer survivor…a quirky, somewhat crazy redhead…Well, you see my point.
If I have to narrow it down, I guess I would have to say that WHO I AM is a Christian woman with a call on her life. Although I write “laugh-out-loud” fiction (a fancy way of saying romantic comedy), I’m not your average storyteller. I see my writing as a ministry; hopefully, a vehicle to remind as many people as I can that there is a higher purpose in life than just walking through it. We’re here to serve. Serve God, serve others, serve our destiny. And I’ve found that the best way to drive that message home is on the wheels of laughter. At least for me. A merry heart does good, you know. Like medicine. Or so I’ve been told.
Where Are You Now?
I think I’m at a pretty phenomenal place in my life and career at the moment. Last year was a bit of a wash in many ways because I suffered through a pretty serious illness over five months’ time. But on the up side, I experienced somewhat of a miracle healing in the end, and I managed to accomplish an awful lot considering the fact that I lost such a big chunk of time. And now that I’m well on the road to health and wellness, the blessings continue to flow. I’ve sold several more books, had a couple of nibbles on translating my books to film/television, and I have a lot of love in my life. It’s a pretty great ledge I’m standing on, wouldn’t you say?
Where Are You Going?
My goal for 2012 is to take a more targeted approach to “the business” of writing by revamping my Web site, streamlining my blog with a more organized approach to scheduling posts, and stepping out of my comfort zone by accepting a few speaking engagements. In addition to career plot points, I have some important events and projects coming up in my personal life this year as well. My mom used to say that the only way to get anywhere of significance is to put one foot in front of the other. So that’s where I’m going! One step at a time, onward and upward.
Sandra D. Bricker was an entertainment publicist in Los Angeles for 15+ years. She is now a best-selling, award-winning author of laugh-out-loud fiction for the inspirational market in Tampa, Florida. As an ovarian cancer survivor, she gears time and effort toward raising awareness and funds toward diagnostics and a cure. For more information, visit her Web site at www.SandraDBricker.com or her blog at http://sandradbricker.blogspot.com
