Okay, here’s the thing about me. I like to be happy. I mean, who doesn’t really? Well, there are those few people on the planet who live to make others miserable, you know who they are. Just not happy unless they’re kavetching about something or other. And life just wouldn’t be the same without them. But honestly, yeah, I can kavetch with the best of them, and sometimes a good kavetch is necessary, but I don’t live for it. I don’t live to be miserable or make others miserable. Which is why, when I set out to write a novel, I just know it’s going to have a happy ending. And if it can’t be happy, it will for darn sure be hopeful.

There is absolutely nothing worse than coming to the end of a novel and wanting to throw the book across the room because you hated the ending. I mean, really. What was that author thinking?? I can name several books that come to mind, but I won’t because I’m nice like that…but some of them got made into movies, which makes it even worse. I watched a movie over the holidays, (I hadn’t read the book so I didn’t know it was coming), and the ending was horrible. Gut wrenching. Catastrophic. I complained on Facebook. As you do. Somebody replied saying, “It happens.” Yep. Can’t argue with that. Tragedy happens. People die. Children get cancer. That is real life. I get that. But, but, but for the love of all things romantic, can we not live a little dangerously in our fictional worlds and embrace the happy ending? What’s so wrong with the guy actually getting the girl and them being , God forbid, happy together. Like forever? Does that not happen in real life? Sure it does. It happened to me. I’ll bet some of you have real-life romances too.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I don’t appreciate investing hours of my time reading a book, (or watching a movie) getting attached to the characters and then having the rug pulled out from under me. And having that completely dissatisfied feeling gnawing away at my gut. Know what I mean? As an author, I want my readers to close my books with a smile on their face. I want them to re-read that last chapter because they want to experience that ‘ahh’ moment all over again. Why would I present anyone with a bowl of chopped liver when I can give them tenderloin? Who likes liver anyway?

So what’s with the sucky endings? Which do you prefer?
Oh, and Happy New Year!

