If you’re active on any writing group on the internet, you’ve probably run into Nike on several of them! Nike loves to encourage fellow authors and quite frankly, I don’t know how she keeps up with herself.

Nike’s first novel, Burning Hearts, a historical romance thriller, released this past year, and the second book in the Sanctuary Point series has just released. The book is called Goodbye Noel, and it’s New Year theme is especially appropriate today as we prepare to say goodbye to 2011 tomorrow night! Nike’s here to tell you all about it:

Thank you so much for inviting me to your blog. I’m thrilled, especially at this time of year. So much of Goodbye Noel has to do with the New Year. Of course, it’s the New Year 1947.

In fact, the novel’s New Year’s scenes are quite important and move the story forward on several levels. Through these scenes, we get a more well rounded and deeper view of Katrina Lenart. She’s considered to be the most beautiful young woman in the village, yet believes she will never marry and has plans to be a career woman. World War II left a dirth of eligible men, as many didn’t come home. Katrina’s not only beautiful, she’s got brains and is highly independent which puts some fellows off and she’s bored with the village idiots, so to speak. Until New Year’s Eve it never occurred to her Det. Ian Daltry, a widower ten years her senior might be interested. She gets her first kiss ever on New Year’s Eve from him. She also incurs the wrath and jealousy of a catty young woman who might be the killer.

A fun New Year’s scene occurs on New Year’s morning when the village has its annual Polar Bear Dip. Residents of Sanctuary Point follow after its fire truck to the cove where a few brave men jump into the icy water. Here we get a picturesque glimpse of a small romance between Det. Daltry’s four year old daughter Amy and young Billy Norbit, who’s father will brave the frigid water. However, two crime syndicate thugs join the parade of villagers and Det. Daltry resolves to carry his pistol from then on, fearing these men will bring murderous violence to the sleepy little village.

The underlying New Year’s theme is of hope, especially when ordinary people stand up, perhaps against great odds, and do what is right. That is how I try to portray Katrina and Ian, as two citizens who in the face of henious murders and a kidnap attempt feel they must rise up and protect the orphaned infant who is in danger, to seek justice for the victims, and comfort those left behind who are in deep mourning. It is ultimately a story of hope and new beginnings.

Nike has also agreed to answer the three questions I love to ask my guests!

 Who are you?

Well, I’ve been called a crime fictionista and I guess that suits me. I’m passionate about crime fiction (mysteries, thrillers, romantic suspense, detective novels, police procedurals). That’s what I read. What I write are historical romantic thrillers. But I also have another side, or many sides. I certainly hope I’m multi-faceted. I’m a wife, a mother of a teenage daughter. I’ve been a pet rescuer for years. I love the seaside and have to live somewhat near the ocean.

 Where are you now?

I’m enjoying researching and writing my historicals. I love the 1940s era. Americans had such class and dignity then, as well as tons of get up and go. Of course, I write for Desert Breeze Publishing. I’m contracted for the four book Sanctuary Point series. Burning Hearts was the first (released May, 2011), Goodbye Noel is second and just came out in time for Christmas/New Years. The next in the series will be Perilous Shadows which will release in the summer of 2012. The next thing on my plate is the 2011 Grace Awards which is a reader driven faith-based awards. Reader voting starts on December 31st. We’re going to be having a cyber New Year’s Eve party at the Grace Awards Facebook group and on its page.

Where are you going?

I’m working on a contemporary novel now. Its heroine is a detective in the Brooklyn Special Investigations Unit (NYC). This novel is a romantic thriller, but there’s quite a bit of humor. Think Janet Evonovich’s Stephanie Plum series without the vulgarity. I’ve also started on a 1950s era female private detective novel, also a thriller, where a number of characters speak much like the Fonz. So, I’m quite busy.

About Nike:

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She was an Inspy Awards 2010 judge in the Suspense/Thriller/Mystery category and a judge in the 2011 Carol Awards in the suspense, mystery, and romantic suspense categories. She is the founding board member of the Grace Awards and its Chairman, a reader’s choice awards for excellence in Christian fiction. She writes book reviews for The Christian Pulse online magazine. Burning Hearts is the first book in the crime wave that is sweeping the south shore of Long Island in The Sanctuary Point series, published by Desert Breeze. Goodbye Noel, the second book in the series released in December 15, 2011.Nike is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) and the Edgy Christian Fiction Lovers (Ning).

You can find Nike on the web here. 

 

 

 

