It’s Christmas!

I was supposed to post yesterday, but I didn’t. Time got away from me. Life took over. And I’m okay with that. I know a lot of blogs have regimented schedules and their writers are extremely good about sticking to them. I’m probably not going to be one of those writers. I’m not perfect. And I’m okay with that.

I’ve been reading a book that was given to all of us at the ACFW conference in September.

I can tell that for me, it’s going to be one of those life-changing reads. The kind of book you have to put down every few pages and just chew on. It’s inspired me already. I’d love to share some thoughts with you  today.

What is it about this world, about our faith even, that whispers to us daily through the shadows of our subconscious, “You failed. You screwed up. Again. You’re nothing but a loser.” These words, these accusations, only audible to us, drive home the truth we run from.

We will never measure up.

The email that tells you the book of your heart is not going to be published. “It’s just not right for us.” The pot roast left in too long, you distracted by things, inconsequential things perhaps, resulting in a ruined meal and nothing but burnt offerings. The parking ticket. The unpaid bill you forgot about. The broken vase that belonged to your great-grandmother. All these things, these little things that happen so easily, pile up like refuse in a dumpster. And soon we just can’t get away from the stench.

How then do we live, always trying to do better, to be better, trying to be perfect. And failing. Always failing. It is almost not even worth the effort. Almost. But wait. Listen.

I believe we have been given a gift. A gift wrapped so carefully, given with more love than we can comprehend. A gift more expensive than we can imagine. A gift that is freely given, ours, should we choose to accept it.

A gift we can take in trembling hands, questions poised on our lips, tears pooling as we feel the first twinge within that says our lives will never be the same. And we wonder, can this really be for me? All mine? As we peel back the layers and reveal what lies within, this awe-inspiring incomprehensible gift, we are flooded with it. Warmth that rushes through us and sends us to our knees. Holy inexplicable warmth. Joy. It is joy. Unspeakable joy. Found only in the very truth that we have a God who loves us. No matter what. 

We will never measure up.

He doesn’t care. He loves us just the way we are. Where we are. And He will inspire us to take the next step. In faith. We will still fail. Still stumble. Still fall. But He will pick us up again, brush off the dirt with tender loving hands, patch up our scrapes and clean off the blood. And then He will turn us back around and gently push us onward, down that winding road that takes us on the journey He has designed especially for us. This is faith living.

It is not the perfect way. It is the best way.

Wherever you are this Christmas, I hope you’ll take a moment to unwrap that precious gift. I hope that in the coming year, you will live intentionally. Not perfectly, but intentionally. Knowing that you are loved. That you are equipped with more power than you know. Joy abounds, my friends. It’s ours for the taking.

Merry Christmas! 

I watched this video this morning on Rachelle’s blog. I just have to share it with you. May you be blessed today, and every day.

 

