Is anyone out there besides me NOT ready for Christmas? I feel like this year has zipped past me at the speed of light. I honestly don’t know where the time went! I do know that this year has been a great one for me. I feel as though I accomplished a lot. Among other things, something I’m really happy about is that I read a lot of books this past year! 

I can honestly say that if I did not have an iPad, the sad truth is, I wouldn’t have read half the books I did. The sheer convenience of being able to download a book and begin reading it in twenty seconds is just something amazing. My days of placing huge orders from Amazon or my local bookstore and waiting weeks for the shipment are long past. As much as I love and respect the paperback, I admit that these days I do most of my reading on my iPad. I even downloaded my own book! 🙂 That was actually really cool…but I digress…

Here are some of the books I’ve read this past year, in no particular order:

The Preacher’s Bride – Jody Hedlund

The Doctor’s Lady – Jody Hedlund

Always The Baker, Never The Bride – Sandra D. Bricker

The Big 50! – Sandra D. Bricker

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins

Jesus, My Father, The CIA and Me – Ian Morgan Cron

The Homecoming  – Dan Walsh

The Swan House  – Elizabeth Musser

This Fine Life  – Eva Marie Everson

Winter Garden – Kristin Hannah

Blood Ransom – Lisa Harris

Dry As Rain – Gina Holmes

Are You There Blog? It’s Me, Writer – Kristin Lamb

We Are Not Alone – The Writer’s Guide To Social Media – Kristin Lamb

A Hope Undaunted – Julie Lessman

The Apothecary’s Daughter – Julie Lessman

Heiress (Daughters of Fortune) Susan May Warren

The Mountain Between Us – Charles Martin

Wrapped In Rain – Charles Martin

The Shape of Mercy – Susan Meissner

The Beach Trees – Karen White

Nightshade – Ronie Kendig

Save The Date – Jenny B. Jones

Her Best Catch – Lindi Peterson

Sarah’s Key – Tatiana D’Rosnay

I know a lot of you voracious readers have probably read twice that many!! For me, this isn’t too bad for also editing two novels and writing a full-length book myself this year – there are also several books I didn’t list here, some I started and just didn’t finish for whatever reason. And then there are all those books I WANT to read…that list is endless! At the moment I’m reading Lakeside Reunion by Lisa Jordan, and I just started While We’re Far Apart by Lynn Austin.

As you can tell, I do tend to choose a lot of CBA authors – some because I know them, others because I’ve heard good things about their books. My stable of mainstream authors pretty much stays the same unless its a book people are raving over. So I guess if I have to narrow it down, I choose my books by word of mouth first over cover and back cover copy. And I also read the reviews, which I guess is word of mouth, duh. I enjoy books that make me laugh. Books that make me cry. Books that make me think. And I love, love, love those rare stories that stay with me long after I’ve turned the last page.

So how about you? What determines whether or not you buy a book? What have you read this year and what books do you want to read?

